Traditional marriage laws fall in two more states

Posted By on September 21, 2014

Until 2003, same-sex marriage was banned in all 50 states. But a lot has changed in the last decade. Eighteen states now allow same-sex marriage, either through legislative action or voter referendum. After the U.S. Supreme Court overturned the federal Defense of Marriage Act in 2013, judges in 17 states have struck down statutes upholding traditional marriage. Cases challenging traditional marriage laws have been filed in all states that ban same-sex marriage. The question of whether states can determine what constitutes marriage within their borders will eventually be decided by the nation’s highest court.

Read the rest here

About The Author


Comments are closed.